Nobel Prize for Physics 2014

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2014 to (1) Isamu Akasaki: Meijo University, Nagoya, Japan and Nagoya University, Japan (2) Hiroshi Amano 
Nagoya:  University, Japan (3) Shuji Nakamura: University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA. “for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources. --> The invention of an energy source that lights up our computer and/ormobile phone screens and holds promise to brighten up the quality of life of over 1.5 billion people around the world, has been awarded the Nobel prize for physics 2014.--> The laureates were rewarded for having invented a new energy-efficient and environment-friendly light source — the blue light-emitting diode (LED). --> According
to the committee, the laureates' inventions revolutionized the field of illumination technology. --> As about one fourth of world electricity consumption is used for lighting purposes, the LEDs contribute to saving earth's resources. Materials consumption is also diminished as LEDs last up to 100,000 hours, compared to 1,000 for incandescent bulbs and 10,000 hours for fluorescent lights. --> When Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura produced bright blue light beams from their semi-conductors in the early 1990s, they triggered a fundamental transformation of lighting technology. Source: Article,

comments powered by Disqus